Press "Enter" to skip to content

Month: October 2011

Digital Fabrication Lab Launch Event on 11.12.2011

We will hold a launch event for our Digital Fabrication Lab on November 12. This event was originally planned for March 15, 2011, but it was cancelled due to the 3/11 Tohoku Earthquake. We will be joined by Jesse Reiser from Princeton University who is Director of Graduate Program at School of Architecture and principal of Reiser + Umemoto, RUR Architecture in New York; Tom Verebes from University of Hong Kong. He is Associate Dean of Architecture School and also Creative Director of OCEAN.CN in Hong Kong; Michael Hansmeyer from ETH Zurich, Institute of Technology in Architecture; and Kengo Kuma, Manabu Chiba and Yusuke Obuchi from University of Tokyo

The event will start at 3:30 pm, Saturday on November 12, 2011.

Poster was designed by Olesia Biloborodko, G30 2nd year student.

Columbia University Midterm Review

Kunio Kudo Studio from Columbia University held a midterm review with us today. Kudo Studio is developing a design proposal for Kisennuma, one of major cities devastated by the 3/11 Tsunami. The theme of their project is Memory and Monument for 3/11.

G30 Studio’s Wunderkabinett

We built new shelvings in our studio last weekend. We have accumulated quite a few study models over the past months, and needed urgently to make a place to keep them. They are not one of those polished final presentation models, but rather inspirational models serving purposes for simulating martial behaviors and formal/tectonic studies.

Holcim Awards “Next Generation” 1st prize 2011 Europe

Prof. Obuchi’s design team, Cast on Cast, from Design Research Lab at Architectural Association in London has received Holcim Awards “Next Generation” 1st prize 2011 Europe for their design thesis project on Efficient Fabrication System for Geometrically Complex Building Elements.

Pavilion Team

G30 Obuchi Lab + Digital Fabrication Lab
Prof. Yusuke Obuchi, Prof. Kengo Kuma, Prof. Jun Sato

Project Team
Jeep Prinya Nurongthanuvath, Taichi Kuma, Akinori Hamada, Deli Zhao, Olesia Biloborodko

Colin Lin Xuhao, Chong Wang, Maung Htoo, Yasemin Sahiner, Shuang Li, Maria Larsson
Ana Ilic, Guillaume Dumont, Dasom Lee, Yuta Ito, Ryo Saito, Lin Wang, Dana Milea